top of page
Search

ISIW Overview

We were given a brief that included making an imagined world, either 2D or 3D, which included movement and sound.


For this I worked with Aaron in 3D to build an abandoned spaceship which Aaron built the hallway and I built the control room. I started with a cube and extruded and added onto it until I got the desired shape. Originally we wanted an added room on the side but I later changed that to shelving as we felt this made the room loom more put together and cleaner, and added a centre piece/table and pipes by the entrance.

After changing around the design of the room itself, I gradually added details around the room including a range of pipes, tables, screens, displays and objects. I also cut out windows as we wanted the room to have a large space view at the front, as if it was at the front of the ship. Here's photos showing the process and final model:

Overall, the modelling process went smoothly but it wasn't until I started UV mapping I noticed problems. I tried many ways to fix and go around the problems in the model such as random overlaps, stretching and glitching edges and faces. These issues were even more highlighted when it came to texturing. Unfortunately I'm unable to access the textured model so I don't have photos to show off the finished texturing, but I kept to the abandoned theme both me and Aaron had, and used textures which had some wear and tear to them or some sort of damage. I then went in further and added scratches, markings, blood and handprints to create the sense of some sort of event unfolded within the room. I also added many signs which you would expect to see in a space station, along with coloured lights, bolts and panels.


However, when lockdown due to Covid-19 started, I realised quickly I was unable to finish my 3D ISIW as I was lacking the software and storage ,and after already struggling to fix broken sections of the model, I took the tools I did have at home and restarted as a 2D digital art ISIW. Although I liked where the 3D model was heading and would've loved to have finished it, I personally think I made a good deception to restart and work in Photoshop instead of Maya.


I wanted to keep the space idea, so after drawing a couple of ideas, I quickly chose the design of two unknown planets and having an astronaut as the main feature.


I started with some basic sketching and colouring.

And after looking at a range of photoshop brushed, I adapted a speckled paint-like style I really liked and then used throughout the piece.

This is where I started to go further in with detail and shading, messing around with lighting and colours; eventually adding a purple and blue hue to the sky and changing the back planet to a pink colour. I also adding heavier shading to the planets.

I also downloaded and used some light beam photoshop brushes, mostly for the background, to give the effect of a large open light source which i personally really like in the finished product.

I then started on the astronaut, which unfortunately I think didn't fit as well in the final piece as I had hoped, but I started with the base colouring and, using the same styling and shading, had a finished drawing.


I am very disappointed I had issues when it came to animating movement, to the point I was unable to include it in my ISIW, as it was one of the main factors of the brief, along with the lack of sound as I wasn't able to record any.


Overall however, I'm proud with the first and final outcome of this project and has helped me to get use to letting go of projects, especially if there's a better and more sensible alternative.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page